Best AI clipping tools in 2026: an honest comparison
There is no AI clipping tool that wins everywhere. As of October 2026: Opus Clip has the lowest entry price ($15/month) and built-in publishing, Submagic the most polished captions on clips you already cut, Klap volume billed per clip, Vizard free credits every month, ClipOnIt quotas in videos, an API plus an MCP server and EU hosting. The right pick depends on your monthly volume, how much you want to automate, and how you prefer to be billed.
How we compared
Five tools that genuinely do clipping (long video in, short clips out), on seven criteria that change the bill or the workflow. Prices come from public pricing pages checked on October 3, 2026, in USD, monthly billing unless stated. They change often; check before buying. ClipOnIt publishes this blog: it is in the table, and we say where it falls short.
AI clipping tools comparison table (October 2026)
| Criterion | Opus Clip | Submagic | Vizard | Klap | ClipOnIt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price (monthly) | $15 | $19 | $29 | $29 | $29 |
| Entry price (yearly, per month) | — (Pro: $14.50) | $12 | $14.50 | $14 | $24 |
| Billing unit | Credits (1 credit = 1 minute of source video) | Minutes / videos | Credits | Clips | Videos per month |
| Free plan | Yes, 60 credits/month, watermark, clips expire after 3 days | Trial, 3 videos | 60 credits/month | Not stated | 2 videos (20 min max), no card, watermark |
| YouTube link import | Yes | Yes (Magic Clips) | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Export formats | 9:16; 1:1 and 16:9 from Pro | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 9:16, 16:9, 1:1, 4:5 |
| Built-in publishing / scheduling | Yes (TikTok, YouTube, Instagram) | Yes | Yes | Yes (TikTok, Instagram, LinkedIn) | No |
| API | From Pro | All plans (minute caps) | All plans (rate caps) | Yes | REST + OpenAPI 3.1, from Pro ($49) |
| MCP server (Claude, ChatGPT) | Yes, 27 tools | Not announced | Not announced | Not announced | Yes, 25 tools |
| EU hosting stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes (Hetzner, Finland) |
Sources: opus.pro/pricing, opus.pro/mcp, submagic.co/pricing, vizard.ai/pricing, klap.app/pricing, cliponit.app/pricing, all checked on October 3, 2026.
What is the best free AI clipping tool?
No serious tool is free without a catch. The catches come in three kinds: watermark, clip expiry, or very low monthly credits.
- Opus Clip Free: 60 credits a month, i.e. one hour of source video, but a watermark on caption templates and clips downloadable for only 3 days (eesel, 2026).
- Vizard Free: 60 credits a month, renewed.
- ClipOnIt Free: 2 videos in total (20 minutes max each), watermark, 3-day history, no credit card. Enough to test detection and reframing, not to produce.
- CapCut: free and watermark-free on most caption styles, but it is an editor: moment selection stays manual.
If "free" means "no watermark and no limit", the honest answer is CapCut, provided you accept finding the moments yourself.
Opus Clip: who is it for?
The most widely used tool, hence the best documented (tutorials, templates, integrations). Its pricing is credit-based: one credit per minute of source video processed, whether it yields one clip or fifteen. Starter at $15 gives 150 credits, Pro at $29 gives 300 (Creatify, 2026). Two 90-minute podcasts a week therefore burn 720 credits a month, more than twice the Pro allowance; that is the most frequent complaint on Reddit and Trustpilot. If your volume fits the credits, it is a very good choice, with direct publishing and a 27-tool MCP server on top. If you exceed them, read Opus Clip alternatives.
Submagic: captions first, clipping second
Submagic started as an animated captions tool ("Hormozi", "MrBeast", karaoke templates) and added clipping ("Magic Clips") later. The 2026 comparisons agree: if you already know which passage you want and need the best-looking captions, Submagic; if you have three hours of footage and no idea, Opus Clip (Montaj, 2026). Its $12/month yearly price is the lowest in the table, but it is per seat.
Klap: volume per clip
Klap bills by clip count (100 clips/month from the yearly Basic plan at $14/month) and targets the one-click YouTube to Shorts flow, with publishing to TikTok, Instagram and LinkedIn. Worth a look for accounts that post many short clips from few source videos.
Vizard: free credits and an open API
Vizard renews 60 free credits every month and opens its API on all plans (rate-limited). It is the most generous tool for ongoing testing without paying, and several 2026 listicles rank it first for long-form repurposing (Vizard, 2026; note it is their own blog).
ClipOnIt: video quotas, API + MCP, EU hosting
ClipOnIt bills in videos per month (20 on Starter at $29, 60 on Pro at $49, 200 on Business at $149), whatever their length (paid plans are capped in GB, not minutes). The pipeline: transcription, about ten moments scored out of 100, face reframing with automatic split screen for two speakers, word-by-word captions in 5 styles, hook title card, Pexels B-roll, music, MP4 export in 4 formats and Premiere XML from Pro. The Pro plan adds a documented REST API (OpenAPI 3.1) and a 25-tool MCP server to drive all of it from Claude or ChatGPT. Files stay on Hetzner servers in Finland.
What it does not do: publish or schedule to social networks, handle teams beyond 3 seats, produce avatars or dubbing. Its entry price ($29) is twice Opus Clip's. For a detailed tool-by-tool comparison: the alternatives page.
Which tool for which case?
| Your situation | Reasonable pick |
|---|---|
| One 60-min podcast a week, minimal budget | Opus Clip Starter (needs 240 credits/month: go Pro) or ClipOnIt Starter (4 videos/month out of 20) |
| You already cut your clips, captions are missing | Submagic |
| Many clips from few videos | Klap |
| Test for a long time without paying | Vizard (60 credits/month) then ClipOnIt Free to see the reframing |
| Automate from Claude, ChatGPT or a script | Opus Clip (27-tool MCP) or ClipOnIt Pro (25-tool MCP + OpenAPI); see automating shorts |
| EU hosting requirement | ClipOnIt (the only one stating it in this table) |
| Publishing and scheduling in the same tool | Opus Clip, Klap, Vizard or Submagic; not ClipOnIt |
What the sticker price does not tell you
- The unit. Per-minute credits punish long videos; per-clip quotas punish dense videos; per-video quotas punish accounts that process many short videos. Model your typical month before comparing two prices.
- Expiry. Several free plans delete clips after 3 days. Download immediately.
- Seats. Some prices are per user, others per account. With two people, the gap doubles.
- Formats. If you also publish in 16:9 (YouTube) or 4:5 (LinkedIn, Instagram feed), check that the export is included and not reserved for a higher plan.
Worked example: a podcaster's typical month
Four 75-minute episodes a month, five clips published per episode, one person. On Opus Clip, 300 credits are consumed: Pro at $29 just fits, Starter at $15 does not. On Klap, 20 clips sit comfortably within Basic's 100. On ClipOnIt, 4 videos out of Starter's 20 at $29. On Submagic, it depends on the minutes included in the chosen plan. At equal volume the tools cost between $14 and $29 a month; the billing unit decides which one tips into the next plan first when you add an episode.
FAQ
Which AI clipping tool works best in languages other than English?
All of them transcribe major languages correctly on clean audio; the gaps show on proper nouns and numbers. Plan a caption proofread whatever the tool.
Do I need a clipping tool if I have CapCut?
CapCut is enough if you know which passage to cut. The point of a clipping tool is moment detection and batch processing; for one episode a week, that is 2 to 4 hours saved.
Do clipping tools post to TikTok?
Opus Clip, Klap, Vizard and Submagic have built-in publishing or scheduling. ClipOnIt exports files you publish yourself.
How long are the clips these tools produce?
Between 15 and 90 seconds by default, adjustable. The length that performs in 2026 is in short video length and format.